PDA

View Full Version : QR Steering wheel mounting?

Devildog
02-13-2006, 03:21 PM
Hi, I'm pretty new to SCCA racing and rules so bear with me if I ask a question or two that is obvious to everyone else.

Looking at the rules it does'nt address using or mounting a QR wheel, however I dont really see how you could mount one without modifying the steering column illegaly.

Is there a legal way to do this or is it just one of those things that is'nt really legal, but it should be and everyone does it anyway, so no one cares?

Knestis
02-13-2006, 03:45 PM
When I had one, the wheel bolted to the QR unit, that bolted to the MOMO adapter, that slipped onto the standard spline on my shaft. I quit using it after we re-engineered the seat mount to make enough room between the drivers' knees and the wheel during stops.

K

Chris Wire
02-13-2006, 06:00 PM
Hi, I'm pretty new to SCCA racing and rules so bear with me if I ask a question or two that is obvious to everyone else.

Looking at the rules it does'nt address using or mounting a QR wheel, however I dont really see how you could mount one without modifying the steering column illegaly.

Is there a legal way to do this or is it just one of those things that is'nt really legal, but it should be and everyone does it anyway, so no one cares?
[/b]

You can do it the way Kirk did (and I am doing) or you can buy the QR unit and weld it to the column. The Momo unit was over $100 to purchase, and the circle track weld on units are usually cheaper, but if you have to pay someone to weld on the adapter, it's pretty much a wash.

I got mine from Lou at LTB Motorsports (http://www.ltbmotorsports.com). A great guy to deal with, many on this list can attest to that. :happy204:

Devildog
02-13-2006, 08:44 PM