PDA

View Full Version : Running SCCA ITS and BMWCCA Prepared?

ppesce
02-01-2006, 11:30 AM
Hi Guys-

Total newbie here. I saw this topic come up in the "Slightly OT..." thread and I though rather than make it more OT I'd start a new one....

I'm just getting started in racing after several years of autocrossing, DE's etc. I have a '93 325is that I am slowly evolving into a race car (even MORE slowly evolving into a COMPETITIVE race car! :) )

Anyway, I've identified the BMWCCA route as a good way to "get my feet wet", get a license, and get some race experience. I can do all their required DE's in my street car, and the 13/13 race format seems like it would have some benefits for a rookie. After some experience there, I'd hope SCCA would grant me a license without too much trouble. Anybody done this before?

Also, I'm trying to compare the rules for ITS and Prepared so I can build a car that I might be able to run in both series as I develop my driving skills. I dont expect to fast in either one, of course, so I'm not worried about the car being "maxed-out" for either set of rules. Instead, it would be considerably under-built for both classes, probably, but might allow me to maximize seat time...

I'd really appreciate any advice or opinions...

TIA,

Pete
New York

buldogge
02-01-2006, 12:24 PM
Hey Pete... ITS cars are legal "as run" in J-Prepared. With the new restrictor rule we will be even less competitive in JP. Personally, I'm not gonna bother this year...BMWCCA races are few and far between...SCCA races every other weekend within an easy drive (your experience may differ by locale).

If the SCCA seriously mucks up this SIR thing...then...I will have to either:

a.) rethink my class
b.) build for JP

If you haven't already done so, read the rulsets for each org/class.

Licensing in BMWCCA is made unneccessarily difficult based on a commitment to their DE system. I for example have a SCCA National Comp licnese but am a BMWCCA "rookie"!