PDA

View Full Version : The right car

Vince
12-26-2005, 01:09 AM
I want to eventually get into racing but need to start with a car that is of the friendlier side to the pocketbook.

I currently have a street legal 944 which I have started setting up for autocross and DE's, but am concerned about the costs of building and maintaining this car. Believe me I love the Porsche brand but I love sportscar racing more and have been on the side lines long enough (just turned 42 today) :023: . Before I go any further with spending money on my 944 I want to explore other options as far as car choice.

I want to stick with RWD. I am also a novice mechanic with limited free time so I want to stick to a car that is fairly easy to work on (I would not call the 944 novice friendly). I grew up around the GM brand (78 Camaro 305, 79 Firebird Formula 301). I'm wondering how a mid 80's- early 90's Camaro/Firebird would compare in cost and fun to a 1st or 2nd gen RX-7. Also other considerations are the Mustang or anyother suggestion.

Thanks for any help.

Vince

lateapex911
12-26-2005, 01:59 AM
Happy Birthday Vince..I replied to you in the Mazda section, but, I'll add that the F body cars aren't really classed in IT at this time. They are classed as American Sedan cars (AS), but the prep level is higher...as in more expensive. You are allowed to substitute a Ford rear for your GM, IIRC, and so on.

Geo
12-26-2005, 02:10 AM
Vince,

I am building a 944 for IT and to be honest, I don't think it's really any more expensive to build than our Sentra SE-R built to equivilent specs. the engine would be a bit more, but not as much as you might think.