PDA

View Full Version : Motronic mods



JimLill
12-08-2005, 09:20 AM
Anybody go the DIY route on this?

References:

http://frwilk.com/944dme/
http://members.rennlist.com/mark944turbo/
http://home.comcast.net/~russelc/dme/dmetune.htm

Geo
12-08-2005, 11:03 AM
Awesome resources. I'm familiar with FR Wilk. Although I'm a regular on Rennlist, I don't frequent the 951 board so that is new to me as well. The last one is pretty cool too. Looks like I've got some reading to do.

I'm still in the construction of my car (actually, final deconstruction, but close to laying paint) so I haven't gotten serious about the DME tuning, but this giving me reason to be optimistic.

Thanks for the resources.

JimLill
12-08-2005, 11:28 AM
I am an EE during the day and have studied and played with Bosch stuff for years. Pretty familiar with L-Jet and Motronic. Now, as I get into track work, I'll be getting serious about ML3.1 systems I guess.

I have ROM erasers and Burners etc. so can try various things.... I also note that there are BMW ECU's that may be identical to 944 except for ROM.

This is a page I did a long time ago, may well be pretty outdated

http://www.vectorbd.com/bosch.html

JimLill
12-08-2005, 11:48 AM
For anyone wanting to get done to the bit level, here's a good resource...

http://apavlov.club.fr/motronic/motronic.html

So, I'll have to drag my ROM tools out of the closet

Fastfred92
12-22-2005, 12:14 PM
Anyone know if aftermarket ecu's could be made to work with the stock sensors on a 944 ??

latebrake
12-22-2005, 12:55 PM
Originally posted by [email protected] 22 2005, 12:14 PM
Anyone know if aftermarket ecu's could be made to work with the stock sensors on a 944 ??

68971


This Mega Squirt thing will work with stock sensors. Grass Roots has a read on it on their web site now. May want to take a look at it.

The 944 Cup site has a thread on now about changing the (insides) around a little in the DME. Way over my head,I have a programable system and the software,windows application or DOS. Monkey work after someone else does the real work and you just pay the money for it.

Lawrence

Bildon
12-22-2005, 04:06 PM
Originally posted by [email protected] 22 2005, 12:14 PM
Anyone know if aftermarket ecu's could be made to work with the stock sensors on a 944 ??

68971


Yes. Most of your temp, pressure, speed, etc sensors will work. It's the more "esoteric" stuff that may not without signal mods. Cam, crank, Vanos etc. If you dig around on any of the major ECU manufacturers website you'll find the requirements for signal input.

eg: http://www.motec.com/support/Techtips/ECU_tech.htm#Sensors

JimLill
12-26-2005, 11:47 AM
Older Motronic systems do not "fire" the injectors individually, so that is a limit on staying legal wth the no harness mod.

Fastfred92
12-27-2005, 12:06 PM
Originally posted by [email protected] 26 2005, 03:47 PM
Older Motronic systems do not "fire" the injectors individually, so that is a limit on staying legal wth the no harness mod.

69208



So the injectors use a common harness to all 4 or is it a 2 and 2 setup

JimLill
12-27-2005, 01:52 PM
Originally posted by [email protected] 27 2005, 12:06 PM
So the injectors use a common harness to all 4 or is it a 2 and 2 setup

69285


2 + 2 from DME pins 33 and 34 I think.......

ryoji
01-03-2006, 01:01 PM
After running a dyno session, found that early US DME has A/F ratio provided upper 13 level. Euro DME has A/F ratio for little wider range from upper 13 to upper 12, averaging low 13 level. A custom chip keeps A/F ratio in upper/middle 12 for almost all time. The ratio was measured by a wide range sensor. Just FYI.