PDA

View Full Version : buying an itb car , need track time/training.

anrkii
12-07-2005, 05:26 AM
newb here,

i am buying an itb car this winter, the car is ready to go and needs nothing else (except a driver) but i am new to track racing.. soo.
where should i start? PDE maybe? or straight to the driving school?

i am definitely not going wtw right off the bat, so where should i start?

theres a driving school on the schedule for late march in stlouis, whom do i contact for this?

dickita15
12-07-2005, 06:51 AM
where are you located

zracre
12-07-2005, 09:35 AM
Definitely PDE's...you will learn more and be more aware of the cars around you after a few schools...ask lots of questions...there are plenty of people that will give you good and bad advise...listen with an open mind as you will always learn something every time you get behind the wheel...you will be more prepared at the first drivers school and have your car sorted before you go to SCCA school...It will make racing more enjoyable!! good luck!! what kind of car??

SPiFF
12-07-2005, 10:21 AM
Put a second seat in the car and do a couple of HPDE weekends.

http://www.trackschedule.com/

Once you get confortable with drivingf the car, do the SCCA school and go racing.

I would think 4-6 HPDE weekdends depending on your learning curve should be more then enough to learn the basic car control needed to go racing.

Have fun .....

JamesB
12-07-2005, 11:21 AM
Originally posted by anrkii@Dec 7 2005, 05:26 AM
newb here,

i am buying an itb car this winter, the car is ready to go and needs nothing else (except a driver) but i am new to track racing.. soo.
where should i start? PDE maybe? or straight to the driving school?

i am definitely not going wtw right off the bat, so where should i start?

theres a driving school on the schedule for late march in stlouis, whom do i contact for this?