PDA

View Full Version : Pinto rear wheel bearing?

AjG
11-05-2005, 08:15 PM
I need to replace a rear wheel bearing on my Pinto, The bearing retainer is tack welded to the axle. Is this a standard race mod? (Seems like a good idea) Can I just grind the weld off and reuse the axle or is it junk? Does this weaken the axle?
I'm new to live axle cars so any advice would be great.
Also, I was bumped pretty hard in the rear quarter before the bearing went, but the wheel and axle aren't bent... Is it possible that the axle was pushed straight into the housing and crunched the bearing? Maybe just a coincidence???
Thanks
Aj

Joe Craven
11-05-2005, 09:15 PM
I don't think welding the rear axle is technically legal but it should work fine if you are careful when you grind it. Don't dig into the axle and leave nicks which can create stress concentrations. I agree that getting hit will load the bearing and it was probably getting close to going anyways.

Fix it and run it again.

No, I don't weld the collars on my Capri axles but not sure if there are issues with Pinto collars coming loose under racing conditions.

AjG
11-06-2005, 11:38 PM
Well the other rear bearing was junk too so it wasn't the bump that did it. Guess I need to check those ever once in a while...
Anyway, Does anyone out there weld the bearing retainers/collars to the axle?
i'm still curious about this. Good, bad, dosen't matter???
Aj

bill f
11-07-2005, 01:49 PM
On Welded retention collars:

Generally a bad idea fostered by many who are not IT racing. It weakens the axle and leaves it prone to stresses it does not have when uniformily heat treated (at the factory).

The retention collars don't come off. If one is concerned about the collar staying in place, simply double the collars...one next to another for double the retention.