PDA

View Full Version : How to concentrate?

C. Ludwig
09-22-2005, 07:42 AM
Looking for a book, old wive's tale, secret potion, whatever to help make myself a better drive. The problem? My mind wanders. In the past I've had random thoughts like doing the laundry pop into my head while I'm behind the wheel. No lie.

I'm a decent driver. We won the Cen-Div Area 4 ITS championship this year. We've been competitive where ever we've gone since I started in IT four years ago. I'm not new to racing. I raced jetskis at a national level before strapping into a racecar. But I have this concentration problem. Lost a ski race one time because the race was televised and FOX Sports was interviewing the winners. I lost the lead on the next to last lap because I was going over my interview in my mind instead of racing. What a bone head!!!!

So seriously. There is a distinct difference that I can feel in myself and see in the lap times when I'm "in the zone" or "up on the wheel". Has anyone read anything they can recommend that relates to maintaining a high level of concentration either in auto racing or in some other general form that they can recommend? Or does anyone have any good techniques that they've picked up along the way that they'd like to share? How can you just close your mind to outside distractions and thoughts?

Thanks!

bldn10
09-22-2005, 10:52 AM
Ritalin?

Hey, don't help this guy - he's kicking everyone's butt already!