PDA

View Full Version : legal question

tcpip
09-20-2005, 09:52 PM
Newbie here. As someone who has just been introduced to IT racing, and starting to take baby steps to becoming an IT racer, I've been thinking about something. Legally speaking, can racers be sued by other racers? Whether it be for car damages or actually bodily harm. I'm under the impression that you can't, but I just don't understand what legal prevents this from happening. Do you waiver the right when you sign the waiver to enter the track? How about when you register as a driver for the event? Or is there just some law, or lack of law that doesn't allow this to happen? Sure there is incidental contact, especailly on the first lap (poor General Li), that may be acceptable, but what about actually recklessness?

As you can see I don't know anything about the law with regards to racing. Any help, especailly from any lawyers that might be here, would be great.

-Jon

mgyip
09-20-2005, 10:17 PM
SCCA Club Racing was founded on the premise of gentleman's racing - that is that each person was responsible for him or herself and their cars. Damage occuring on the track was (and still is) part of the risk accepted when taking a car onto a racetrack in a race situation.

Theoretically, you sign away your right to sue when you enter the race. Amazingly, even with the number of lawyers and legal eagles that race, they abide by this understanding. That isn't to say that purely stupid driving is tolerated however - quite conversely there are several courses of action that can be taken against a reckless driver.

The first course of action which is often initiated by a wronged party (the innocent by-stander whose car gets banged up by a stupid manouever) is a protest against the aggressor. Depending on how closely the aggressor has been watched in the past for other conflicts, this results in anything from a "stern talking to" to a license suspension.