PDA

View Full Version : Looking at IT

jhd11
09-17-2005, 01:34 PM
Hello,
I am new to this forum but have been lurking a little bit. I am seriously considering an IT 7 purchase to get back on the track. I have no experience w/ Mazdas but have heard they are good, dependable cars to learn with. The car is a sunroof car. Pros? Cons? Anything I should be looking for? Thanks in Advance.

Joe Downer
Charlotte, N.C.

Mike Spencer
09-17-2005, 08:04 PM
The car is a sunroof car. Pros? Cons? Anything I should be looking for? Thanks in Advance.

Hi, Joe. First of all, welcome! :023:

I'm far from an expert, but I'm just a little bit farther along in the direction you are contemplating. I bought a "turnkey" IT-7 a little over a year ago, went to the double school in Savannah in February and earned my Regional license in May.

From your question, it's not clear if the car is a finished race car or a "project". FWIW, I hope it's not a project. I started with a non-running but very straight 2nd gen and ultimately sold it off and bought the completed car (with results showing how it ran). Building your own car takes *LOTS* of time, *LOTS* of money and ultimately *LOTS* of patience. Buying a completed car gets you racing a lot quicker and usually the car is already sorted.

Sunroof? I don't have the GCR in front of me, but you have to basically weld it in place. Those cars also come in just a little bit heavier and the weight is high up. Not good. (It won't make a huge difference when you're learning, but will become an issue later unless you plan to sell the car)