PDA

View Full Version : 240SX bushings - spherical v. urethane

erlrich
09-25-2002, 11:26 AM
Hi gang - another newbie here, just wanted to start by saying hello and thanks for the wealth of info already posted here. As this site was very influential in the decision to get my '90 240SX to build for ITA, I thought it only fair that I return the favor by posting all my stupid questions here, to hopefully provide a few chuckles and, on the rare occasion, increase the knowledge base. So here goes #1:

I've read here (and other places) that the spherical bushings are THE setup for the 240 suspension, but I'm wondering just how much better they are as compared to good polyurethane replacement bushings (for instance, the Whiteline bushings PDM sells). Is the additional cost justified (sorry guys, I'm an accountant by day, so everything gets the cost/benefit treatment)?

On a related note, is there currently a 'hot' setup for springs/shocks/struts?

All help is greatly appreciated!

------------------
ITA 240SX in process

bbp
09-25-2002, 12:35 PM
Oh boy, I hope you haven't awakened the "Spherical bearings are illegal" Rules Nerds!!

I have heard the same thing. It make sense because there are so many bushings in the rear, like 16 in the control arm plus the rear subframe and diff (S14). There is alot of rubber than can squish around back there. I don't know how big of a difference between the two as I only have done a couple of sphericals and the rest I used the PDM stuff.

The cost diffence is night and day though. I'll have to dig up my reciept for the custom work but you can probably do all poly bushes for the cost of about 4 sphericals. There is a guy in Topeka (Tim at Westek) that is familiar with the set up. He was talking about getting a few rear supensions ready for sale and you send him your "core".

Bob Stretch seems to be the guru of 240's, he said the bearings are the only way to go.

Geo
09-25-2002, 01:09 PM
Originally posted by bbp: