PDA

View Full Version : BMW 2002 Transmissions

Ron Earp
11-20-2004, 02:16 PM
I saw the other thread on 2002s but didn't want to hijack it.

Anyone know anything about 2002 5 speed transmissions? I have been told the 5 speed in the 2002 is the same 5 speed that I am using in the Jensen Healey, a Getrag unit. I'm also told (although it conflicts depending on who answers the question) that the things are rather fragile.

I'm just searching for information on them and for a spare transmission.

Thanks,
Ron

------------------
Ron
http://www.gt40s.com
Lotus Turbo Esprit
Ford Lightning
RF GT40 Replica
Jensen-Healey: IT prep progressing!

DaveITB1
11-20-2004, 10:22 PM
This link is a rundown of the BMW transmissions in 2002's and 320i's. I run an '82 320i in ITB with a Getrag 245/4 in it. I have been slamming that thing for 4 years now on New England tracks without a hiccup. It is a very strong box. The 2002's 5-speed (Getrag 235/5) is the same length as my 245/4 box, but the 235's are very hard to come by, and from what I've heard, are not that strong.

If the Jensen's tranny is a 235, then the 245 SHOULD work in its place. If you need one, my mechanic has 3 in his shop. Drop me an email and let me know if I can help.

http://www.bimmers.com/02/faq/transmission.html

Dave Austin
[email protected]

PS I have a '60 Austin Healey 3000 Mk1 (street car) !!!!!

Ron Earp
11-21-2004, 07:44 PM
Lo and behold, I have the rare close ratio street 5 speed made of Unobtainium, Ub on the periodic table. The one where you cannot get parts, as I've been told before. The one that cost $2500USD to rebuild. The one that some guy just paid $2000 for on Ebay not long ago. Great! A gearbox that is worth more than my car. Another pleasure of building an odd car. ;-(