PDA

View Full Version : EGT sensors on 1st Gen ITA?

ishod
02-11-2004, 10:09 PM
Do you feel they are a necessary item to keep the carb tuned properly? If yes should two be used, one for each header pipe? Suggestions for brand/model?

02-26-2004, 12:44 PM
they are essential to getting your car up to speed, and yes you need 2, I didnt have them so I paid to have my car chassis dynoed, but any change in elevation or temperature and your money is wasted. Buy the digital dual readout EGT and get a box full of jets and keep going smaller till your EGT'S read 1450 at the end of the straight, check your timing often, 25-26 tops, no more, detonation will destroy your motor. Im not an expert , yet, others can bring you in closer, dont let my trends post discourage you, remember were racing for a three dollar trophy to have fun.

02-26-2004, 12:55 PM
I cant believe 2 weeks past and nobody came to your aid on this, were slackin guys

Festus E. Simkins
02-26-2004, 01:28 PM
There is probably some disagreement regarding the optimum exhaust temp for a rotary engine. I believe it is close to 1550 to 1600 degrees F can't really remember. You might want to check with the guys at mazspeed.com. Also, Westach makes a duel guage that goes to 2000 degrees F. That is the one I use. I have seen exaust temps as high as 1900 degrees and the engine lived. I rejeted to get them down. I am still running a little high be I haven't had any problems so far. Just my .02. There are guys out there FAR smarter than me on this subject.

Drive well.

tdw6974
02-26-2004, 01:33 PM
Lets see if this works http://www.aircraftspruce.com/home.php this is where we got our EGT with probes as I recall some are packaged with probes and thats what you will need. T weaver

------------------
Tom Weaver: Logistics & Technical Support Manager IE truck driver for 1980 RX-7 ITA #63
"Hemi haulin' Rotary"

L.Lamb
02-27-2004, 01:37 PM
So where do you get this box full of jets????

ishod
02-27-2004, 01:49 PM