PDA

View Full Version : How to quiet a 2nd gen?

Eagle7
04-27-2003, 12:50 AM
86 ITS RX-7. I've got no prior experience, and haven't yet had this car out of the garage, so I have no idea how loud it really is. However, my better half is VERY nervous about what the neighbors might think about this jet that's about to leave the carrier. Also, I might want to run at Waterford Hills, which has serious noise limits. So, in order to keep the peace at home, I need an easily mounted/removed way to quiet this screamer down.

It currently has a Racing Beat header into a single 3" pipe feeding a Flowmaster muffler with a downturn outlet. How can I make it purr instead of growl while I tinker at home?

------------------
Marty Doane
ITS RX7
CenDiv WMR

ITSRX7
04-27-2003, 08:15 AM
I can see where you are coming from. Realizing it is ABSOLUTELY CRITICAL to bring the Wankel up to temp before shutting it down, it makes for intereting neigborly values.

I would build yourself a modular system. Keep what you have now and then when you need to work on it or travel to really restrictive tracks, get a SuperTrapp.

Buy some dyno time and really log what kind of power you get from the number of discs. That way you will be able to 'tune' at Waterford for max power, really cork it up while you tinker in the garage and then swap out setups at other tracks.

Have fun!

AB

------------------
Andy Bettencourt
06 ITS RX-7
FlatOut Motorsports
New England Region
www.flatout-motorsports.com

C. Ludwig
04-27-2003, 09:16 AM
I've got a Supertrapp and it does quite the car but it kills the power. With enough discs to make noise at WH the power falls off about 1000 RPMs earlier than it would uncorked. They work well for the around the house stuff though. I would not design a system to use a Supertrapp at all times. For reference, my car with a long primary setup and Dynomax muffler is right at the edge of the SCCA dB limit (101dB right?). We were 100dB at Mid-Ohio several times. So...it's LOUD.

Chris