PDA

View Full Version : Rotary not rotaring!

noresull
04-17-2003, 10:28 PM
Ok guys, here's the deal. I am the pit crew for Benracin. We have yet to get the car on a track for SCCA events, and plan to do so Next weekend at Blackhawk farms.

Anyways, We cannot get the darn thing to start. It is a 12A, with the stock carb, modified by Pettit, atleast that's what all the paperwork says http://Forums.ImprovedTouring.com/it/smile.gif. We have checked for spark at all four wires, all are sparking.

Last year, We were able to get it running, but not idle, and it would really run bad until the RPM's got up there.

My question(s) what are some of the common things to look for, what is the proper base setting for the idle mixture screw...So on and so forth.

I am a Ford Mechanic by trade, but I do not have alot of experience with carbureted vehicles, only Fuel Injection so go ahead and get technical, call me names, anything, I just want to see if You all know of anything in particular to look for/change/replace/beat with a hammer.

Thanks everyone in advance!

Speed Raycer
04-17-2003, 10:39 PM
Others will know much more than I but start with the basics. Have you tried starting it with starting fluid? Rotaries with low compression are a bear to start, but we've always had good luck with Starting fluid.

Test your spark again and make sure it's wired correctly. Leading plugs on bottom, #1 is front rotor, Leading coil is the REAR one. If all this is right, check your timing in case someone's pulled the dizzy.

If the electronics check out, start on fuel (but be sure not to flood it). Is the fuel pump working? You should hear a sound coming from it in a stripped interior. If its ok, pull the line and make sure its pumping to the carb (bad regulator?), then reattach and check the float levels. There's a clear "window" on the front and back of the carb that the fuel level should be in the middle of.

This should get you started...

------------------
Scott