PDA

View Full Version : 6 port actuators

Quickshoe
04-01-2003, 02:29 AM
Here's the scoop. I am helping out a new Group5 Rally team. 3 events and they got their first win this last weekend! I am new to 13B 6-ports so here are my questions:

Should I wire the 6 port actuators open?

The motor will spend very little time below 5000 rpm.

They currently do not function as the exhaust does not have a pressure tube thingy.

Due to time constraints and other higher priorities with the car, we have not removed the intake manifold to verify that they are even in there.

If they have been removed by previous owner, are there any intake manifold mods required, that perhaps were not done?

I suspect that they have been removed as this motor seems to be seriously down on power at low and mid-range. It has a restricitve exhaust system (#1 on priority list) and had no poop up top either.

Thanks for your help. What do the ITS guys do?

7racing
04-01-2003, 11:25 AM
I ran a 6 port 13b in a GSL-SE for 1 year. We wired the ports open all the time. Makes no difference on low end, but does seem to help out in the high-end. I noticed a difference at about 6000rpm. Since you mention that the motor never runs below 5000, wire them open.

There should be a specific intake to utilize the 6-port. It's been a long time (6 years?), so I don't remember. We used the stock intake for IT, so it was whatever was used on an 85 RX7 GSL-SE.

Jeremy

Allen Brown
04-01-2003, 11:35 AM
I run a GSL-SE...I've removed the actuators and 6 port sleeves. I can't say I noticed too much difference when I made that change. Slightly less pull below 5000-5500 rpm but it doesn't pull past 8000 rpm. But this is probably more of a function of how bloody small ports and the restrictive air flow meter!!

------------------
Allen Brown
#36 IT1
[email protected]

Karl Bocchieri
04-01-2003, 08:37 PM