PDA

View Full Version : ITS 13b rebuild

ThePartsTrader
01-31-2003, 04:45 PM
Guys,
I am in the starting process of building an ITS car from a '91 RX-7. I have never offically "road raced" in door to door competition but I have been running SCCA Solo I for two years now and have been Solo II competing for around 8 years.

The car I am starting with has a low compression motor (had 130k + miles on it) that I picked up for nearly nothing. I have been pricing a rebuilt motor for this car. I have been quoted everything from $1800 for a basic rebuild to around $5000 for an "ITS Race" motor.
Is the extra $3200 (difference between cheap and race motor) just going to ceramic apex seals and new side housings?
What else are the pro engine builders doing to justify the price difference? Ceramic seals and new rotor housings can be purchased for around $2800. Is the rest put towards balancing and extra time spent checking the clearance of all the parts?

------------------
B. Carmon Colvin
ThePartsTrader.com
'86 Mazda RX-7

C. Ludwig
01-31-2003, 07:57 PM
Do a search in this section. There was a good thread a while back about junkyard motors versus "built" motors. Some seem to feel rotaries get better with a lot of break in. My personal experience is that I haven't had any rotaries run off and hide from my 80k or so mile motor.

Chris

------------------
Chris Ludwig
08 ITS RX7 CenDiv

ThePartsTrader
02-01-2003, 08:46 PM
The search function on this website must not be working correctly. A search for "motor" in this section only turned up two threads (unrelated) and "engine", "horsepower" and "junk" turned up nothing.

I did manually scan through the thread titles and came up with a legality discussion about a MazdaTrix motor. But that was the only thread I found close to the subject.