PDA

View Full Version : engines, pulleys, and stuff

frazer
12-10-2002, 12:16 PM
ok, winter's here and i want to get my motor done. at the moment, it's stock. all i've done is remove the a/c equipment and the smog equipment. i have a block-off plate for the acv. this is an SCCA ITS car. i need help! what size pulleys do i get? best source for a radiator? remove the 6 port sleeves? does the o2 sensor just go away? incase you can't tell, this is my first attempt at this. =) if you can help me out, post here or e-mail me at: [email protected]

thanks,

mike

C. Ludwig
12-10-2002, 07:49 PM
I went through all this last year so don't feel bad. Here's what I did. Removed the 6-ports all together and made block offs. Removed the OMP and went to premix. Had a radiator custom made by a guy in Michigan (great deal but I lost his email addy http://Forums.ImprovedTouring.com/it/frown.gif) The o2 sensor leaves which if I'm not mistaken forces the car into open loop so you can now tune with fuel pressure. I probably removed some stuff I'm not supposed to (per rules) but anything that wasn't essential to making the car run fell off at turn 3. You'll need the TPS, water temp sender or resistor, IAT sensor or resistor and the OMP or resistor for 89+ cars. Everything else goes. BTW I wired the VDI valve open in the short runner, high RPM setting. My car was competitve with the other 2nd gens everywhere I went this summer power wise. It's an 86 JY/SR motor with about 65k on the clock. I did go to twin stock oil coolers, the comp high pressure oil regulator and the oil pan baffle. Other than that she's all as-is from the factory.

Chris

PS: God I love using the term JY/SR! That's got my vote for net wit of the year! http://Forums.ImprovedTouring.com/it/biggrin.gif

------------------
Chris Ludwig
08 ITS RX7 CenDiv

AS-RACER
12-10-2002, 08:04 PM