PDA

View Full Version : Help! Wiring in a kill switch..

Silkworm
09-18-2002, 05:05 PM
My head is spinning, I'm not good at electronics or wiring, so please help me figure out what I need to do here. Reference this graphic that I found.
http://www.ssdiv.com/killsw.gif

Ok, so the battery wire goes to one of the two big poles. A wire then goes from the other big pole down to the starter. That far I understand.

Now, based on this pic, and other descriptions, It looks to me that I'm supposed to also wire the alternator output wire to one of the two big poles. But which one? The one running from the battery? or the one running to the starter?

Ok, I'm also supposed to run a wire from the starter side of the big pole to one side of terminal 1 (normally closed). The other side of terminal 1 goes to the supplied resistor, and then to a ground. Correct?

Now, terminal 2, is supposed to go inbetween the ignition switch and the coil. However, we have multiple coils in the 2nd gen RX-7. so which wire do I splice this into? Sorry, not good at reading wiring diagrams.

Thanks for any help you guys can offer. THis is for a 2nd generation RX-7.

PaulC

GEO46
09-18-2002, 05:17 PM
Not real familiar with 2nd gens, nor with the switch you have. I must admit that the wire with the resisor going to ground has me baffled.

Anyway, heres what I did with my Moroso switch. Basically, place the switch to interupt the main battery + cable. Lets call from batt to switch terminal A and from switch to the rest of the car terminal B. Attach alt feed/power wire to terminal B and you should be pretty much set.

Quickshoe
09-18-2002, 05:49 PM
Geo46,

Now I'm confused. If you connect the Battery pos to "A" and the Alt wire to "B", when you open the switch the Alt wire is still providing voltage to the motor (fuel pump).