PDA

View Full Version : Lean Rotary

rlekun
08-18-2002, 04:03 PM
I noticed some earlier threads relating 12A overheating and a lean condition. Seems like many of us rotor heads are finding hotter than normal running conditions this year. Now for a wild hypothesis: Could this be attributed to our fuel acquisition ports restricting fuel volume? I changed to the carter fuel pump before this season and of course put an in line fuel acquisition set-up in. Pressure gauge looks fine under all RPMs. But of course I have no way of knowing if I'm delivering enough fuel volume. I'm no expert mechanic, so I'm I all wet?

I just had a new motor put in and upgraded to a new radiator...so I want to make sure I've closed off any other threats...

ddewhurst
08-18-2002, 06:57 PM
If I were having heating/overheating issues & had just put in a NEW motor & raditor I beleive I would also put in EGT gauges. Immediate response for motor temps long before water or oil temps develop.

When racing Karts some people have head temps from a pickup at the spark plug, others have EGT gauges. EGT's report critical temps before you stick a piston in Kart motor turning 16,000 RPM's. (melt the pistion alum over the ring).

Have Fun

David

lateapex911
08-18-2002, 11:15 PM
Good point. It is my understanding that we rotary guys are in need of specific EGT guages....

Any input from the rotormeisters out there as tothe right guage, installation location of the pickup and the expected readings? (for the 12A)

Thanks in advance!

------------------
Jake Gulick
ITA 57 RX-7
Northeast Region
[email protected]

Festus E. Simkins
08-19-2002, 09:16 AM