PDA

View Full Version : Cost to build CRX for ITC?

Jack2002
04-21-2002, 07:21 PM
I am very new to all of this stuff but I am wanting to build or buy a competitive car. I have been looking at the ITC class. I have been looking into VW but it seems very expensive to build a first class car, around $10,000 for the parts and motor. If I were to build a CRX for ITC would that be less expensive? I am very picky about car prep and want to do it correct. Any imput would be great.
God Bless
Jack2002

------------------
http://www.jackweigand.com

jc836
04-21-2002, 07:47 PM
My current project is a 1989 CRX Si. The car was not cheap, as it came from NC and is rust free. That alone saved a good bit on prep. However, I will have to do the roof modification. The panel replacement (best method in the long run) is on the order of $300 for the parts plus install. Since my car needs paint and other cosmetics-due to age, the cost will go up accordingly. The chassis shop doing the work will also install the roll cage, fire supression, belts, make bulkheads, etc. The estimate is around $3000 ready to go out his door. You will also want to update and/or replace all of the rear suspension bushings, sway bar, shocks, springs, brake lines, pads/shoes, rotorsdrums. Plan on another $1000. If you elect to redo the powertrain entirely-that could raise the final number substantially. In my case we plan on doing a refresh including bearings and clutch.
You need to consider the replacement of hubs, bearings and wheel studs.
Final cost could be well over $5000 depending on what you need to do. This assumes you have a car to prep. CRX Si's are not cheap if really clean. There are a number of them available and the prices range from $1500 to $4000. This set of numbers is based solely on my experience thus far. A race seat and weld-in roll cage add over $1200 to the total, btw. Hope this is a help to you.

Jack2002
04-21-2002, 08:26 PM
jc836,