PDA

View Full Version : 1.7 scirocco trans

golfracer
09-12-2004, 11:40 AM
I was looking in the GCR and it shows that the 1.7 scirocco that is moving to ITC did come with the closer ratio gear box. I had talked to a few VW racers and they had told me that was wrong, while I had also talked to some VW mechanics and they told me that some 83, 84 1.7s DID come with the closer ratio gear box. Do you guys have any imput on this. I building one of these cars and I want to make sure I am right on this.

Thanks

Ed

racer_tim
09-12-2004, 08:22 PM
Here is a chart that I found

http://www.nwlink.com/~vdb/vw/Transmission...on/Tranny_Specs (http://www.nwlink.com/~vdb/vw/Transmission/Tranny_Specs)

Not sure how acurate it is

------------------
Tim Linerud
San Francisco Region SCCA
#95 GP Wabbit
http://linerud.myvnc.com/racing/index.html

Greg Amy
09-12-2004, 09:02 PM
Ed, from my experience with these cars (I've been a VW driver for decades) the only Scirocco that came with the close-ratio box was the 1.8-equipped one. In fact, I cannot think of *any* A1, S1 or S2 non-1.8 liter V-dub that came with the close-ratio box.

I recommend not trusitng the GCR as your definitive source of what equipmnent you're allowed to run; there's just too much info out there and you'll get tossed. Instead, do your homework and see if some oddball car (like maybe the CA-only Scirocco GT or S) came with the boxes before you try the ole one-two. - GA

Bill Miller
09-13-2004, 06:59 PM
Ed,

Greg's correct, the only ones that came w/ the close-ratio (FK, 4K, or 2H) boxes were the 1.8's. Also, there were no 1.7 S2's in '84.

------------------
MARRS #25 ITB Rabbit GTI (sold) | MARRS #25 HProd Rabbit
SCCA 279608

Eric Parham
09-14-2004, 07:31 PM