PDA

View Full Version : itc rabbit performance upgrade

ITC Mercury
12-07-2002, 10:52 AM
As you will surely figure out, I am new to all this. I did a bunch of 4 cyl circle track racing and got my two SCCA schools and five races in last season and hope to run most of the NERRC/NARRC next year. The car I bought came "fully sorted with a refreshed engine". I have stripped it to the chassis for a rebuild and would love a laundry list of what other folks would do to rebuild. I can run off a laundry list about the car and how it felt this season but if this is better handled via e-mail please let me know.

Thanks. Erik
[email protected]

------------------
Erik

racer_tim
12-07-2002, 10:05 PM
Nope, I think this the perfect place to pick other racer's brains about what go-fast pieces they would install, configure, not do with out, wish list, would like to have, etc.

What does the car have now?

------------------
Tim Linerud
San Francisco Region SCCA
#95 ITB GTI, GP for 2002
http://linerud.myvnc.com/racing/index.html

ITC Mercury
12-07-2002, 10:52 PM
Here are teh specs on the car as it ran this year:

New 1600cc crank, & bearings
New +0.040" KS pistons & wrist pins
Rods sized, honed, balanced, and matched to piston wts.
New Cam ("G"), with cam spray tray.
Spec.Valve job.
Block bored +0.040", & decked flat. Tapped oil galley plugs. New Freeze plugs, New int. shaft bearings.
New Head Bolts
New Timing Belt & tensioner
New hi volume oil pump with full screen windage tray with pan gasket
Fresh clutch, flywheel and driven disk.
New Water pump
New alternator Belt
New water hoses
New air & fuel filters
Accusump and oil cooler

The head was said to have been match ported but looks pretty rough and could definitely stand to be re-done.

This engine had 2 races on it when I bought the car and has seen 3 schools and 5 races this year.

The header cracked (disintegrated) at the Pocono school and was replaced with a 4 into 1 Pacesetter header.