PDA

View Full Version : Differentials

opel racer
09-17-2002, 06:03 PM
I'm looking for some direction in deciding what type of differential I use. What's better- a limited slip unit or a welded unit? Is using the stock differential completely out of the relm of possibility? As I have posted before, I am new to this so please be patient!

Knestis
09-17-2002, 09:48 PM
"I love the smell of a welded diff in the morning. It smells like...traction!"

Kirk

Bill Miller
09-17-2002, 10:58 PM
If you're thinking limited slip, I can tell you from first hand experience, that a Quaife will slip. I've heard that the VWMS one doesn't because it's a different design. Problem is, there aren't many around for 020 boxes, and the ones I've heard about are about twice what a Quaife costs.

On the other hand, there are several people who do very well w/ welded spools w/o significant driveline wear/failure. They do take a different style, but they don't slip!

------------------
MARRS #25 ITB Rabbit GTI
SCCA 279608

Scirocco#28
09-18-2002, 12:53 AM
mmmm....traction http://Forums.ImprovedTouring.com/it/biggrin.gif

I love my welded diff, wouldn't trade it for anything. If they paved the paddock at my local track, I'd find one that wasn't haha!

------------------
87 ITB Scirocco
www.geocities.com/highspeedconnectionracing (http://www.geocities.com/highspeedconnectionracing)

racer_tim
09-18-2002, 01:06 AM
We do give up a little on the slower / tighter corners, and in the rain it's not as good as a Quaiffe, but it's chaper. It also requires a different driving style. You have to be on the loud pedal in order for it to turn.

So, you brake in a straight line, turn in, and get on the gas. No trail-braking.

I broke a hub last year, but that was on an original 19 year old part, that had been re-built, but had almost 300k miles on it. I went through more CV's and transmissions auto-xing my car using an open diff, than road racing with a locker.

My $0.02 worth.