PDA

View Full Version : Tire rotation?

Jack2002
05-22-2002, 12:00 PM
I am new to SCCA racing and I have a question about rotating tires to get the longest service life. I am going to be running ITC with a Sirocco on Toyo tires. Is there a system of rotating tires to get the most out of them? I believe I understand the heat cycling of new tires but I am a little fuzzy after that. Thanks in advance for the input.
God Bless
Jack Weigand
God Bless

------------------
http://www.jackweigand.com

racer_tim
05-22-2002, 12:13 PM
Jack, the fronts take a beating in a FWD car. Just notice how much air pressure difference between the fronts and the rears. I usually rotate then front to back every session. The Toyo's can also be rotated left to right.

I had 6 heat cycles on my 205-55-14's last year, and rotated them every heat cycle, and they were still VERY good before I sold the entire 14" package.

P.S. These were shaved to 4/32". I'd only recommend a full tread set for rain tires. Sorry Joe.

------------------
Tim Linerud
San Francisco Region SCCA
#95 ITB GTI, GP for 2002

[This message has been edited by racer_tim (edited May 22, 2002).]

Joe Craven
05-22-2002, 12:15 PM
A full tread set of Toyos will last you a whole season +.

I race a GTI, and the rear tires hardly wear. Observe how the tires wear, if the RF wears on the inside and the LF wears on the outeredge, swap sides occasionally. On my car, the rear tires wear the most on the outer edges. You can swap front to back to keep the wear constant among the tires too.

Jack2002
05-22-2002, 12:52 PM
Tim and Joe,