PDA

View Full Version : Replacing/fabricating flexible fuel lines

machschnell
03-18-2002, 05:25 PM
In the process of replacing the rear beam susp. bushings, then the brake lines... I decided to replace the rusty/nasty looking fuel lines in my Rabbit, going from the fuel pump to the accumulator, and from the accumulator to the hard line that goes to the engine. Both of these are braided steel lines, about 2 feet in length. from the fuel pump is a banjo fitting, and to and from the accumulator is a screw-on fitting.

I priced out new ones - way too expensive. I have a call into BSI about some used ones, and they're working on getting some together.

My question is, would it be reasonable to make some lines using some of the braided material and fittings (aeroquip/earls) and make it work. My only concern is I've never done it before, and would there be fittings to fit a VW - or does that even matter?

Any idea on approximate cost? Just want to know what my options are.

Thanks,
PJ

------------------
83 Rabbit GTI - future ITB

joeg
03-18-2002, 07:00 PM
If you make it out of the Teflon-lined Aeroquip (high-pressure), -6 or -8(?), it could get fairly expensive--at least $50 witth the fittings.

hoser 99
04-07-2002, 01:27 AM
Does anyone know if there are fittings available to convert banjo fittings to AN line? I've found some, but they are only for #3 or #4 line which is too small for fuel. thanx

racer14itc
04-07-2002, 09:57 AM
The webmaster (Bildon) carries these fittings. www.bildon.com (http://www.bildon.com)

BSI Racing also carries the Earl's fittings you need to convert the banjo fuel fittings to -6 AN.

(386) 677-5778

www.bsiracing.com (http://www.bsiracing.com)

Hope this helps,

Mark Coffin
#14 GP VW Scirocco

[This message has been edited by racer14itc (edited April 07, 2002).]

RatherB Racing
04-26-2002, 05:54 PM