PDA

View Full Version : Online Tire Shoppers...Fair Warning!!!

itbgti
11-16-2004, 03:31 PM
I have been purchasing non-race tires online for about 5 years (Tire Rack) and have had great success...however, times are-a-changin.

I just purchased snows, and went to have them mounted...FIVE places would not even touch the tires...most were effective August 30, 2004 (No Tires Purchased elsewhere will be mounted/balanced, etc). Two additional places wanted to charge north of $200. I finally lucked out and called a distant contact and had them done for $100.

I don't know if this is something widespread, but I thought some would like a fair warning...check local tire shops first, armed with online prices, and some may match it now.

Regards,
Alan

Greg Amy
11-16-2004, 04:20 PM
It's becoming a more common ploy, Alan: they don't want you buying tires from anyone else and bringing to them for mounting. Sure, they'll *claim* it's a liability and insurance issue, but it's not; it's really a non-competitive way of trying to force you to buy tires from them.

Each time I'm faced with such an attitude I make it clear to the shop that they are removing any possibility of doing business with me in the future. It even happened to me at my tractor supply company! The guy could not supply the tires I wanted for my lawn tractor, but when I brought him tires that I bought mail order he refused to mount them. I let him know he'd lost all future service, repair, and parts business from me; he was non-plussed (even rude) despite our long relationship. <shrug>

The best tactic is to use the on-track facilities available at your races. I make it a point of buying my Hoosiers from the track guys, and of course I'll never have any mountingproblems. If, for whatever reason, I need other tires mounted, my ongoing business with them assures me good service.