PDA

View Full Version : tires shaving

stefand1234
06-29-2004, 12:11 PM
is it worth the money and will it make the life span ot the tire decrease

racer_tim
06-29-2004, 12:31 PM
It all depends on the tire? Toyo and Kuhmo @ full tread are good rain tires, but shaved to 4/32" are for the dry. Hoosier's and Goodyear's don't need shaving.

------------------
Tim Linerud
San Francisco Region SCCA
#95 GP Wabbit (Bent)
http://linerud.myvnc.com/racing/index.html

Joe Craven
06-29-2004, 12:48 PM
I've ran 205/60-13 Kumho Victoracers and Toyo RA-1s w/o problems. I have a lot of experience with the Toyos and find that shaving the tires is worth at least 2 seconds on most tracks with a low hp ITB type car. The difference may be more with faster cars. In addition, tire consistency is pretty constant with the Toyos, so I was able to fully use the tire until some cord showed. Not sure about the Kumhos, but other tires are often replaced due to heat cycles before they are physically worn out.

[This message has been edited by Joe Craven (edited June 29, 2004).]

Blix
06-29-2004, 03:41 PM
The toyos were intended to run in the dry shaved. Trust the engineers who designed them and run them the way they intended. You will go faster and if its hot, you could chunk the tires with full tread in the dry. It's not common like Hoosier Dirt Stockers, but I have seen it.

Also, the car will feel MUCH more responsive if on shaved tires, there is much less tread squirm.

Finally, no it doesn't appreciably shorten the life. Heat cycle them once, let em cool, then run them for the rest of the season, rotating occasionally. Save up over the winter and buy new ones (depending on how many races you run a season)

BMW RACER
06-29-2004, 08:58 PM
Sometimes shaving can make the tires last longer. Since they generate less heat shaved, they are less likely to chunk. I agree with Joe, shaved vs non shaved good for at least one second.
John Norris
(Toyo Dealer)

Marcus Miller
06-29-2004, 11:17 PM