PDA

View Full Version : Tow vehicle purchase

Domino
10-23-2003, 11:09 AM
My girlfriend is looking to get rid of her Celica and get a SUV. So I say "why not get something that would make a good tow vehicle." She really likes the Honda Pilot, as do I. It's rated capacity is 4,500lbs for boat trailers and 3,500lbs for all other trailers. How does towing a boat trailer differ from a car trailer? I'm guessing it doesn't. I'm fairly new to trailering so is 4,500lbs sufficient for a 2,080 pound CRX, trailer and everything else? Thanks.

Fleetcare
10-23-2003, 11:36 AM
Aerodynamically yes it is...

But I know many people towing CRX's with Pilots... so as long as you get the tow package I am sure you will be fine!

planet6racing
10-23-2003, 11:40 AM
In my opinion, you will be borderline at best. If you are going to do this, make sure your trailer has brakes. Good brakes. Also, upgrade the Honda's pads to something that can better handle heat.

Towing a 2300# Saturn and gear behind a Ford E-150 van is scary enough. I'm not sure I would want to do it with anything less.

------------------
Bill
Planet 6 Racing
bill (at) planet6racing (dot) com

cherokee
10-23-2003, 12:17 PM
In my view this is one area that you do not want to skimp on...you have a lot mass there, and all the tools,tires and all the other stuff adds up faster then you would think, I would bet you are closer to the 3500 then you would think. You don't skimp on safety on the race car, don't skimp on the tow vehicle eather.

Domino
10-23-2003, 01:51 PM