PDA

View Full Version : SCCA and Conference

Brianreed
08-04-2004, 07:21 PM
Something has been bugging me for a couple years now, I am sure some others it is longer. In the NW, we have the ICSCC, which boasts large grids and some good racing. Then we have the SCCA, that seem to have the same large grids and decent racing, except that they race in Bremerton, which is not a fun track. I have done a drving event there, I know. I know there are a few people that do both ICSCC, and SCCA, but there are still a large number that do not, why is that. Is there some old bad blood that I do not know about? I am telling you,r Pacific Raceways is a much better track and wonder why SCCA still uses Bremerton?

seattle7
08-05-2004, 08:25 PM
I'm a newbie to racing, but here's what I "know"...

At this time, both the SCCA and ICSCC use Pacific Raceways. It didn't used to be this way. Pacific Raceways, back when it was SIR, was deemed "unsafe" by the SCCA. Recently (last year?) upgrades have been made and PR has been allowed to hold SCCA events. They are getting decent SCCA grids at PR now. I don't know about conference. So, in other words, it used to be that you had to choose between the SCCA and PR (conference). That is no longer the case. PR has an SCCA event in 2 weeks.

FWIW I haven't run PR yet but I heard it's a blast and can't wait to get out there.

Mike

Joe Harlan
08-08-2004, 11:57 PM