PDA

View Full Version : IT7's in North Carolina

Jim Innella
09-17-2003, 08:23 PM
Just found out that we'll be moving from Ft Lauderdale to Greensboro , N.C. I have had a great time running the IT7 class in the SE and CF Region over the past year and one half. Here is my question . I have heard and read that the SE region has a strong IT7 contingency as compared to other regions. I have enjoyed racing against 12 - 15 competitors in my class espcially at the Sebring races. I need to decide wether I should take the IT7 to N.C. or sell it here and buy a different class car to race up there with. I purchased my car from Maryland and have been pretty competitive with it always running near the front. Believe me the car is good because as a rookie driver I still have a long way to go. I want to keep racing but if the IT7 classes in N.C., Virgnia, S.C. only attract a few cars in the class I would rather find a class with more competitors. I would appreciate any input from anyone who has a feel for SCCA racing in the N.C. region. If it makes more sense to change classes I will list my IT7 on this site first. I would like to see what this car would do in the hands of a more experienced driver on Florida tracks . I qualified it second and finished second (first heat)at the June Sebring race. I think most of the drivers I race with could get even more out of it. But first things first- Is there life in the IT7 class outside of Florida ??
Thanks
Jim Innella
IT7 #60

chuck baader
09-17-2003, 08:30 PM
Jim, go to the SEDIF web site and research the races that have occured this year. You can find a break-down by class for each race, and the total number of entries. Don't rule out Road Atlanta, Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham and Roebling Road in Savannah as they are all close to your new home and great tracks.

------------------
Chuck Baader
SEDIV ITS #36 E30 BMW
Alabama Region Assistant Race Chair, Divisional Registrar

Mike Cox
09-18-2003, 08:48 AM