PDA

View Full Version : Road Atlanta for the rookie

JeffYoung
08-17-2003, 12:40 AM
Have the new motor in the car, and am raring to go. Had hoped to get to CMP this weekend, but just had too much do.....so, going to fix the jones with Road Atlanta over Labor Day.

I'm a rookie, this will be my second race. Have heard all the bad things about RA -- concrete everywhere, aggressive drivers in the region, etc. Anyone care to share some thoughts on the topic? Should I avoid as a rookie and just work on my home track (VIR), or give it a shot?

Fleetcare
08-17-2003, 02:37 AM
from my experience:

Drivers in the SE region are TERRIBLE! I have never met so many cut throat drivers in my life.. I actually hated being on track with some of the assholes.. Thus I wont be doing it again!

RA : Turn 12 is a tricky one.. Theoretically everyone has the grip to go into turn 12 flat out.. i didnt have the balls, or confidence, to do that too often..

Turn 7 is decieving bc its more than a 90 degree turn and there is no damn grip there.. Damn shitty corner..

Turn 1 is also like 12.. You can go flat out up the hill.. It works out nicely!

The complex between turn 1 and 4 is really confusing to me.. BUt eventually you remember it.. It feels like your doing the same thing almost twice..

My best advice is have AWESOME brakes ( bc i didnt) and warch as many videos of the track as you can find.. I know there are a few people on this board or HT that have them.. It really gives you a good idea of where you should be on the track..

and once again.. beware the racers!

Goodluck
~Jonathan

Fleetcare
08-17-2003, 02:40 AM
oh i forgot to say DO THIS ONE. Its a badass track even if your not superfast!

SilverHorseRacing
08-17-2003, 11:07 AM
Originally posted by Fleetcare:
from my experience:

Drivers in the SE region are TERRIBLE! I have never met so many cut throat drivers in my life.. I actually hated being on track with some of the assholes.. Thus I wont be doing it again!

~Jonathan