PDA

View Full Version : car choice

Khammitte
11-21-2004, 12:32 PM
Hello,

I am not yet a racer. I have been attending track days for three years now with BMWCCA, Trackmasters, SCDA and the like. I will be attending a Skippy school this winter and maybe a SCCA school in the spring.

Here is the dilemma. I own a 1990 BMW 325is that is fairly well sorted out for track duty. It is reliable, handles well and has a half cage. My current plan is to prepare the car for ITS, but I have also looked into buying a Spec Miata. My questions: Does my E30 have enough potential to eventually be in the middle of the pack? Am I relegating myself to the far back? I have attended a few ITS races and saw nary one E30 and the races results pages never state whether a particular car is an E30 or E36 325is. Any thoughts?

Thank you
Keith Hammitte

lateapex911
11-21-2004, 01:45 PM
Welcome to the madness Keith!

You hae a great backgound for what you are about to embark on.

I don't consider myself an expert on the E30, but, to some degree at least, the results speak for themselves. Rarely do we see one near the front.

So, the question becomes: why?

Is it because not many were built? That nobody has discovered the "magic formula" to make that particular car fast? Or that it has intrinsic issues that hold its performance down.

I personally think that they made enough of them, that there is a ton of development work done on them by the various aftermarket supppliers and club guys like yourself. So.....that leaves the last one.

It could be that the car can do very well, but everyone knows the E-36 is the car to have, and BMW guys naturally choose that one, leaving the rest unloved.

So....you need to ask yourself a few questions-

1- What does the knowledge base for this car suggest it can do vs. the E36? ie: what will the IT developed power to weight ratio be? Can it handle and brake with the E-36? If you find that it compares well, then you know it won't be a back-packer.