PDA

View Full Version : Late model Mustangs

jbenoit
07-28-2004, 10:34 PM
Are late model 1999 and newer V-6 Mustangs approved for any SCCA classes? If not, why? (Try to limit the easy Ford jokes http://Forum.ImprovedTouring.com/it/smile.gif I can't afford American Sedan but I'd like to give IT a try. My father and I have lots of Ford background from Drag racing so it would be easier to stay with this model. I've been working behind the wall and on the grid for a few years and I'd love to try my hand behind the wheel now. Thanks.

JohnRW
07-28-2004, 11:08 PM
Showroom Stock B.

Less diddling allowed, but the added benefit of it being a Nat'l class, so you can use the same car at your Driver's School that you'll use to win a National Championship.

jbenoit
07-28-2004, 11:16 PM
Thanks for the info John. I'm stilling waiting for my new GCR but my old 2001 book doesn't look like you can do much at all to a SSB car. My experience with Mustangs in the past is that they need help...in many areas (brakes). They can be good cars with a few select parts. I'll keep my fingers crossed. An RX7 is looking interesting now.

joeg
07-29-2004, 07:02 AM
Perhaps another new ITC possibility.

JohnRW
07-29-2004, 11:54 AM
Originally posted by joeg:
Perhaps another new ITC possibility.

Don't tell that Jones guy about it.

jbenoit
07-29-2004, 11:57 AM
From what the old GCR says about the older 98's this thing is going to tip the scales at 3100lbs! I may need a parachute to stop for the turns http://Forum.ImprovedTouring.com/it/smile.gif

dyoungre
07-29-2004, 01:02 PM
Actually, the August Fastrack had the recommendation showing:

2. Add (96-98) model years to Ford Mustang in ITS.

It was listed in the 'member advisory' section.

------------------
Dave Youngren
NER ITA RX7 #61

JohnRW
07-29-2004, 03:20 PM
Originally posted by jbenoit: