PDA

View Full Version : Sway Bar Adjustment

Eagle7
04-12-2004, 08:33 PM
Got a new adjustable front sway bar (Suspension Techniques). Now I've got to figure out how to use it. http://Forum.ImprovedTouring.com/it/smile.gif

My motivation was to tame down the tail wagging, although I have to confess I'm still learning what a neutral setup feels like.

Anyway, the bar has two positions for the links to the control arm. The "outer" position is a "softer" bar that should result in relatively more oversteer. The "inner" position is "stiffer" for less oversteer. (hope I got that right)

Q1) Is there a middle setting, with one link in each position? Or is that non-symetrical? I r an engineer and I still don't know.

Q2) Since both the sway bar and the shocks affect under/oversteer, how much of each should I use. I'm thinking I should leave the front/rear shocks at a middle setting to find the optimal sway bar setting, then tweak with the shocks.

Q3) Now for the really newby question. Is there an easy way to tell when the car is neutral? Or is there a different answer for that for every driver?

Thanks,

------------------
Marty Doane
ITS RX7 #13
CenDiv WMR

Jake
04-12-2004, 09:01 PM
I'll go first.

1. I would think that one on each would work as a middle setting. I don't think Symmetry is an issue, because you only care about the relationship between L+R

2. The Bar deals with steady state cornering balance. The Shocks deal with transistional. If you are trying to prevent oversteer from a quick tranisiton (quick throttle off for instance) than you should look at stiff shock setting up front and a softer one in the back. If you are getting oversteer in long steady-speed sweepers, than you need to stiffen up that front bar.

3. I would suggest driving at a constant spead in a corner at the limit and see what end slides out first. Use that to set your bar stiffness. I think in many ways, people like to set the car up for as much oversteer as they seem comfortable with.