PDA

View Full Version : Tire Size Question

dtheracer
04-03-2004, 02:06 PM
I'm new to IT racing and set ups. Is conventional thinking in IT that you run the widest size, lowest aspect tires your wheels can handle? Any trade-offs between scrub and drag in staights with wider tires and cornering ability. I ran the Neon Challenge in an SSB car a few years back and we ran a narrower/higher aspect spec tire from Goodyear than SSB rules allowed and I believe the cars were actually a bit faster. The car in question is a 88 Honda CRX/ITA.
Any input would help as it will probably dictate the brand tire I use.

Dave Piasecki

RSTPerformance
04-03-2004, 07:02 PM
If you want to go fast you wil get Hoosiers... no matter what size you run they will be faster.

Raymond

PS: everyone told us that if went with bigger tires on our Audi's we would go slower. We put on the bigger tires and it was faster. Our cars have a lot of weight on the front and they tend to push a lot. I think the bigger tires give them that additional grip needed. Also we run different size tires front to back. We can't fit the larger tires on the rear without rubbing the fenders.

Joe Craven
04-05-2004, 12:13 PM
Raymond, I went faster this weekend with 205 Goodyears than I ever have on 205 Hoosiers. The Goodyears are much narrower and fit much better on 6" wide rims we are required to run in ITB. The 205 Hoosiers are too wide for 6" rims. Even Hoosiers website lists the 205 with a recommended rim of 7" minimum.

Btw, I also race a FWD VW GTI. At last year's season finale, I ran 195/60-14 Goodyears on the fronts and 205/55-14 Toyos with 55psi hot tire pressure in the rear. Car was very competitive and while it was a handful until rear tires got to temp, the Goodyears hooked up while Toyos drifted very nicely, allowing the car to turn in with controllable oversteer.

37 ITB Capri
ITB VW GTI

[This message has been edited by Joe Craven (edited April 05, 2004).]

RSTPerformance
04-05-2004, 01:15 PM